Dissident Prophet Returns With New Album


Remember Dissident Prophet from the 90s? They put out several singles and a full length We Are Not Grasshoppers before changing their name to The Maccabees. The Maccabees put out two albums and then disappeared Well, it seems they decided to go back to Dissident Prophet and release a new album for free. Weapons of Mass Deception picks up where the Prophets left off and keeps the guitar-fueled alternative fires flowing. You can pick it up for free on their BandCamp page, along with most of their older releases under both names.




As a thank you for your support throughout 2012, we're releasing a new song, "From the Dust... We Ran to Greet the Dawn" for free here. We had this drum track (performed by Steve H) left over from the Chasing After Shadows... Living With the Ghosts sessions. We listened to it with fresh ears and realized we could

do something special with it. After Andrew and I completed our part, Matt added his sweet cello and here we are... I feel a sense of opennes, nostalgia and unbridled childlike innocence when I listen to this track. When was the last time we stayed up all night or woke up early enough to get some place where we could just take in the arrival of sunrise? It's the most difficult thing to do, but we have to fight to keep our hearts from growing old and cold. We only have a few sunrises to see before we leave here, combined with some scattered moments of twilight. It's constantly up to us to try to see this life with new eyes. Go greet the dawn...

In keeping with our year-end tradition, I (Marc) have compiled a list of my favorite albums from last year. You can see the list










Scott Silletta, the former voice behind Plankeye (for 4 albums) and Fanmail (among his many other contributions to the music scene both as songwriter and producer), has begun tracking his new album for Morning Radar Sounds. The label will release the album in March 2013. Scott has also launched his own website which you can view here. Get pumped!




SOLA-MI is a concept band featuring Derek Webb, Josh Moore (Co-producer of Webb's Stockholm Syndrome and Feedback albums), and Latifah Phillips (of The Autumn Film and Page CXVI), commissioned and inspired by Solomon Mente's groundbreaking fictional narrative and film, NEXUS. Their debut album, the official motion picture soundtrack for Mente's NEXUS, is available now for free.







                                                              | Home |